Half-Way No More

So much for finishing the book I was reading and blogging about. Apparently, I am not the best and most devoted blogger BUT I am really good at doing things just half-way. Like the beautiful blanket I’ve been looming has been half-done since last year, collecting dust along with the book I’ve been writing for 2,000 years now, which is also half-done. So I guess my talent in life is doing things half-way or perhaps I have some sort of attention deficit disorder. Maybe I’m on a quest to find my purpose in life. Perhaps I should finish that book about a propose driven life to understand more. Oh well…

Nothing hits you like losing a close friend or watching a loved one suffer whether it’s physical pain or mental. Right now, I feel completely helpless. I have no clue how to help those around me who are suffering. Even though recent events are not affecting me directly, they are affecting people I deeply care about. What can I do to ease their pain? What can I say? In times like these, I reach for the bible.

Likewise the Spirit helps us in our weakness. For we do not know what to pray for as we ought, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groanings too deep for words. And he who searches hearts knows what is the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for the saints according to the will of God.  Romans 8:26-27

With prayer, comes wisdom. With prayer, comes peace. With prayer, comes love. With prayer, comes forgiveness. With prayer, comes guidance. I will pray for my loved ones.

Dear Heavenly Father, I pray for those suffering around me. For those facing the lost of a loved one. For those facing parenting challenges. For those facing inner struggles that we can’t understand. Comfort them with Your love O God. Wrap them up in Your strong embrace. Shelter them from the storm O Lord. For all life is found in You and all hope begins in You. Amen.

Very recently, I was reminded that this life on earth is temporary and you never know when your last breath will be. When someone you love dies, you are reminded how mortal you really are. Those half-way projects make you feel like you’ve wasted a talent and time – well maybe not my knitting since there are a few holes in the blanket. I am going to try my best to always hug and say, “I love you” to my family when we part from each other because you just never know what will happen. It’s out of our hands. It’s in God’s hands. It’s His plan. So make the journey one to remember and not regret.

Leave a Reply

