I get it!

Day 6:  Life is a Temporary Assignment

This may start off silly but read and you’ll see that today I discovered something great.

When I first heard the song, “Temporary Home,” sung by Carrie Underwood, I was driving in my leather seated, loaded with everything, brand new Jeep Grand Cherokee. The song brought tears to my eyes. How sad I thought to live in a shelter. How sad to be foster care. How sad the old man dies. I didn’t get what temporary home actual means until now. That song is one of positivity not sadness! The subjects in the song were facing serious adversities in life and instead of looking down, they looked up! Up to God and declared that this situation is temporary and that I know there is a better life awaiting me – eternal life with You.

So why do you need the best of everything? Why do you need designer shoes? Why do you need the latest cell phone? Why do need the brand new SUV? Why? Well, because I want it and that’s dangerous. Materialist objects become our idols we worship.

You shall not make idols for yourselves or erect an image or pillar, and you shall not set up a figured stone in your land to bow down to it, for I am the Lord your God. -Leviticus 26:1

Achieving success and wealth isn’t what God sees as a purposeful life. He wants you to see this life as a temporary life and serve faithfully in His name. If God blesses you with money, He must see that you are responsible enough to handle it, use it wisely, and put it to good use in His name.

So today I figured out something great! No matter how dismal a situation or how many worries I may have about life and my future, it doesn’t matter. It’s all temporary and I’ll make the best of it.

Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer. –Romans 12:12

Question from day six in Rick Warren’s The Purpose Driven Life:  “How should the fact that life on earth is just a temporary assignment change the way I am living right now?”

For me, I am going to stop worrying about what the future holds for me and my family. I know if I follow God and remain faithful that the lessons He has taught me will prepare my future – I just need to follow Him and abide by His rules. I am going to give more time to my family and spend less on things we don’t need. Will my children have the latest and greatest of material things? No, but they will have my love and memories to last this temporary lifetime.

Leave a Reply

