Driven by God

Day 3:  What drives your life?

Sit down and think for a moment just what drives you to do what you do every day. Is it the need to be successful? Anger? Need to be accepted? Fear? Laziness? Money?

I really have no idea what drives my life right now. Currently, I’m dealing with an emotional state that does not exist. I feel nothing. It’s weird. This could be happening because of lack of sleep and down time. I am light sleeper and hear EVERYTHING at night. So I’m usually up between 2am and 4am. I’m thinking this constant tired-state has created a feeling of not really feeling. It also hinders my memory a bit. Maybe it’s some kind of depression but I don’t feel unhappy. Who knows? God does.

“Without God, life has no purpose, and without purpose, life has no meaning.” This quote from The Purpose Driven Life tells us that we may not know what our purpose is but with God in our life, we have a purpose.

Ask yourself, what is really driving you? For me, at times, it’s fear. This may sound silly but fearful of completely a lifelong goal and then have it be a failure. But if you complete it, how can it be a failure?

If I were to ask a friend what my drive in life is, I’m betting he or she would say my children. Is this what I want to drive my life right now? Yes it is. I believe God wants me to raise them into loving, independent adults who know Him.

By allowing God to enter your life and allow your “purpose” to just happen is allowing peace into life.

You, Lord, give perfect peace to those who keep their purpose firm and their trust in you. –Isaiah 26:3

Leave a Reply

