Give Thanks to the Lord for Comfort – Days 13-16

November 14th-16th:  I was having a hard time thinking of something to be thankful for over the past few days.  I know that’s a terrible thing to say.  When the terrorist attacks happened Friday, I was taken aback on what to be thankful for.  When events like these happen, I question why.  Why does God allow this?  Perhaps it is just as simple as saying these events weren’t created by God but by evil brought on by Satan.  At that moment on Friday when I first heard about the attacks, I was immediately thankful for the safety of my family at that particular moment – a bit of a selfish thought but as a mom it’s the first you think about – where are my babies?  Are they safe?

So I struggled with something to be thankful for.  Sure I’m thankful for my family and safety but I feel incredibly selfish for writing about that when so many in world have lost family due to terrorism.  As far as feeling safe goes…I’m not sure about that anymore.  We are never completely safe.  We can die at any moment, whether from terrorism or an accident.  These events can also inspire.  One thing happened after the event was the worldwide support of sympathy for France.  Buildings and monuments displaying the French colors of blue, white & red and sporting events displaying the French flag were everywhere over the weekend.  Even Facebook gave you a profile transparency to show your support for the French people.

He heals the brokenhearted and binds up their wounds. – Psalm 147:3

Sympathy is displayed to help comfort those who are suffering.  What comforts you?  I love the comfort of a nice hot chai latte.  Something about it makes all the tension in my neck go away and I am able to re-center my soul.  Thanksgiving dinner offers a lot of my “comfort” foods like mash potatoes with gravy and pumpkin pie.  I give thanks to the Lord for comfort.  The comfort of a hug from a child or loved one.  The comfort of knowing we have a place to call home after we leave this world.  Comfort in knowing He will bring peace to us.  Bring your troubles to the Lord and He will comfort you.

Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted. – Matthew 5:4

Come to Me, all you who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. – Matthew 11:28

For whatever things were written before were written for our learning, that we through the patience and comfort of the Scriptures might have hope. – Romans 15:4

Leave a Reply

