Day 3 Give Thanks to the Lord

November 3rd:  Today I give thanks to the Lord for blessing my family with loving neighbors.  Recently, I’ve been pondering the idea of a new home. We could really use some more space to accommodate our growing family. But when I begin to think about my neighbors, I know there’s no way we could move away from them. They have become our family.

When I needed someone to watch the baby so I could take a sick toddler to the doctor, my neighbor didn’t hesitate to help me. While on maternity we have been blessed with meals, gifts, cards and visits from our neighbors. I love that my neighbors offer to have us over or let us hop on their boat with our daughters even though you never know what will set a toddler into a tantrum or a baby into a fussy cry. Last week, the doorbell rang and it was a surprise gift for one of the kids for Halloween. It was signed from a secret admirer but I knew which neighbor it was from. Our neighbors have adopted our children as their own and I am so grateful and thankful for them all!

It is a sin to despise one’s neighbor, but blessed is the one who is kind to the needy. – Proverbs 14:21

It does have me wonder just how good of a neighbor I am. The bible references “love your neighbor as yourself” in several books. The bible also references to not seek revenge against your neighbor and if there is a neighbor in need it is your duty to help them. I chuckled at Proverbs 27:14 – If anyone loudly blesses their neighbor early in the morning, it will be taken as a curse. So don’t mow your lawn before 10 am.

Tonight I pray to the Lord to open my eyes to those in need in my neighborhood and give thanks for the wonderful community we are so blessed to live in.

Leave a Reply

