Day 2 Give Thanks to the Lord

November 2nd:   Coming home from picking up the teenager from sports practice and the three-anger from preschool, I was the victim of a poop attack. Somehow the baby had such a forceful blast of smelly that it shot up on the inside of her onesie. It took a two man team of my son and I too handle the situation. We had to cut her onesie off in order to avoid fecal wonderfulness from baptizing her sweet little head. A bath was needed immediately. While bathing the baby, the three-year old decided it was time to brush her teeth using all the toothbrushes. Toothpaste was going everywhere but I figure at least her teeth were clean.

Children can always find ways to turn a dull afternoon into a total adventure of chaos and I love it. Today I thank God for blessing me with children. I have grown into a stronger person because of them, even though I can’t win a debate with a toddler that the sky is not blue. Children look at the world with total wonderment. My older daughter has taught me to slow down and notice all the little things around me. She literally stops to smell the roses everywhere we go. My son has taught me to relax and not sweat the small stuff so much. And the baby has taught me that I am stronger than I ever imagined. No way would I believe anyone who told me five years ago that I would have two young daughters in my forties!

“…Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of God belongs to such as these. I tell you the truth, anyone who will not receive the kingdom of God like a child will never enter it.” – Mark 10:14-15

Jesus spoke about how adults need to see heaven with the eyes of a child. Thank you God for giving me the responsibility of raising children to know You. Teaching a child how to pray and how to sing “Jesus Loves Me” has renewed my faith. I struggle with being a skeptical adult about the aspects of heaven and God himself. As adults, our eyes have been opened to the evils of the world and our hearts hardened by unfortunate things that happen to us. We have to remember that God is a father to us. He is our shepherd and we are his lambs. As the father or shepherd, he will cradle and comfort us.

Tonight’s prayer will focus on accepting God as my father once again and asking for help to see the world and heaven like a child again.

Leave a Reply

