Stop Complaining & Start Appreciating

I am a complainer.  I complain about everything and anything.  During my journey of putting God first on my list of priorities, I have become keenly aware of certain habits I have – one of which is complaining.  I complain about housework, the pets, the job, and even my husband from time to time.  Why?  This was not an easy answer to find.  Once I started analyzing I found more than one reason why.

Do not grumble against one another, brothers, so that you may not be judged; behold, the Judge is standing at the door.  James 5:9

First, I come from a family of complainers.  When talking with my extending family I grew up with, I noticed they complain all the time and about the silliest things.  Then I noticed that I complain about stupid things right back at them.  When we talk, we bicker about everything from the neighbor’s lights at night to how the person in front of us is driving.  But why do we have to do this?

And the people complained in the hearing of the Lord about their misfortunes, and when the Lord heard it, his anger was kindled, and the fire of the Lord burned among them and consumed some outlying parts of the camp.  Numbers 11:1

Perhaps I’m just not a happy person.  Right now, I’m sleep deprived and being fueled by caffeine.  Such is the life of a working mother with a toddler.  I don’t feel unhappy.  I just feel tired.  Maybe it’s because I find it normal to complain since most of my extended family does it as well.  Yet, something is missing.

Recently, I was asked when Jesus came into my heart.  My response was that He’s always been there.  I was raised in the church and just always knew him.  Yes, I knew Him BUT perhaps that something missing is Jesus.  Have I really accepted Him into my life and my heart?  I say I have but my actions and complaining say otherwise.  Lately I go to church with hesitation since I usually end up spending most of it in the Sunday school area with my toddler.  I need to see it as quality time I can spend with her and teaching her who Jesus is.  We can all go to church and say we know Jesus, but have you really accepted Him in your life?  I’m not sure I have.  How do you know if you have?  My guess is if you ask yourself that question, you haven’t.

So in order to raise my children in the light of Christ, I better make sure I have fully accepted Jesus into my life.  This is a very exciting journey I am on.  The more I get to know Christ and accept Him into my heart, the more I feel love.  It’s amazing!  I wish others would do the same.  Imagine if we just start appreciating everything we have versus complaining about it.

Give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.  1 Thessalonians 5:18

My next step is to stop complaining and start appreciating.  As long as I keep trying, then at some point it will become a habit.  Practice makes perfect!  Can’t wait to see just what I’ve been missing out on by complaining all this time.

Leave a Reply

