Update #2

Well, I’ve been working on my listening and sure enough my patience has grown with my kids and my husband.  Funny thing though is my patience at work as grown less.  Perhaps it’s because I’ve finally put it further down my list of priorities – Yahoo!  Praise Jesus!  My job now sits below our Lord and my family.  However, by doing all this I’ve realized yet another issue – money and material things.  I place money and material things above many things – probably even God.  I really do!  You can say you don’t but when you look around you…well the proof is all there.

I made the excuse that I work hard and therefore God rewards me with a paycheck.  As long as I pay my bills, then I can buy whatever I want – even if I don’t NEED it.  The truth is, I’m in debt.  The bills I pay are credit cards and loans.  I looked up verses reference debt in the bible and OUCH!  I had a serious wake-up call.

The rich rules over the poor, and the borrower is the slave of the lender.  Proverbs 22:7

The wicked borrows but does not pay back, but the righteous is generous and gives.  Psalm 37:21

Owe no one anything, except to love each other, for the one who loves another has fulfilled the law.  Romans 13:8

There are many more verses referencing debt but these three really touched my soul.

On this journey to living a more righteous life, I’ve learned so much about myself.  Previously, I didn’t really like myself much.  Now I know why.  I just wasn’t living in the light of our Lord or even trying.  Yes, I went to church but just going doesn’t mean you’re living.  I see things I’ve never seen and find joy in everyday life that I never have before.  Don’t get me wrong, I wasn’t like a depressed person on meds but in time – who knows – I may have acquired a dependence like that.

I’m so thankful to God for all the blessings and especially the love He’s given me and my family.  I will continue to improve myself to be a better Christian.  The next step for me, is my debt.  Time to free myself of this truly God forsaken burden.  It may take a few years, but I know it’s the right turn on my Christian path.

Leave a Reply

